Aarhus University Seal

Elite Research Prizes

The Elite Research Prize was established by the Ministry of Higher Education and Science and was awarded for the first time in 2007. The prize is awarded to five outstanding researchers of international acclaim who are under 45 years old. The Elite Research Prize includes a cash prize of DKK 1.2 million. DKK 200,000 is a personal award of merit, while DKK 1,000,000 is intended for research activities. 

The board of the Independent Research Fund Denmark assesses all recommendations and nominates five candidates to the minister for higher education and science.

Receivers of the Elite Research Prize from Aarhus University


Per Borghammer

Clinical Professor Department of Clinical Medicine - Nuclear Medicine and PET

Portrait of Per Borghammer. (In Danish only)

Dorthe Ravnsbæk

Professor Department of Chemistry

Portrait of Dorthe Ravnsbæk. (In Danish only)


Felix Riede

Professor School of Culture and Society - Department of Archeology and Heritage Studies

Portrait of Felix Riede. (In Danish only)


Signe Normand

Professor, Centre Director Department of Biology - Ecoinformatics and Biodiversity

Portrait of Signe Nordmand. (In Danish only)

Receivers of Elite Research Prizes 2007-2020


  • Anders Møller

Portrait of Anders Møller. (In Danish only)


  • Peter Teglberg Madsen

Portrait of Peter Teilberg Madsen. (In Danish only)

  • Niels Jessen

Portrait of Niels Jessen. (In Danish only)


  • Robert A. Fenton

Portrait of Robert A. Fenton. (In Danish only)

  • Portrait of Søren Fournais

Portrait of Søren Fournais. (In Danish only)


  • Hanne Christine S. Bertram

Portrait of Hanne Christine S. Bertram (In Danish only)


  • Liv Hornekær

Portrait of Liv Hornekær (In Danish only)


  • Rubina Raja

Portriat of Rubina Raja (In Danish only)

  • Lars Birkedal

Portrait of Lars Birkedal (In Danish only)


  • Daniel Otzen

Portrait of Daniel Otzen (In Danish only)

  • Jens-Christian Svenning

Portrait of Jens-Christian Svenning (In Danish only)


  • Steen Hannestad

Portrait of Steen Hannestad (In Danish only)

  • Ove Christiansen

Portrait of Ove Christiansen (In Danish only)


  • Søren Riis Paludan

Portrait of Søren Riis Paludan (In Danish only)

  • Bo Brummerstedt Iversen

Portrait of Bo Brummerstedt Iversen (In Danish only)


  • Lars Arge

Portrait of Lars Arge (In Danish only)

  • Kurt Vesterager Gothelf

Portrait of Kurt Vesterager Gothelf (In Danish only)

  • Adrian Favall

Portrait of Adrian Favall (In Danish only)


  • Bjørk Hammer

Portrait of Bjørk Hammer (In Danish only)


  • Poul Nissen

Portrait of Poul Nissen (In Danish only)

  • Leif Østergaard

Portrait of Leif Østergaard (In Danish only)


  • Klaus Mølmer

Portrait of Klaus Mølmer (In Danish only)

  • Søren Nielsen

Portrait of Søren Nielsen (In Danish only)