Aarhus University Seal

Other AU locations

Aarhus University is a nationwide university. In addition to the main campus in Aarhus, Aarhus University has campuses in Herning and Emdrup, as well as research activities in 18 different locations in Denmark, Greenland and Tenerife.

The university covers an area of approx. 580,000 square metres (net). This corresponds to approx. 80 football fields. Here, you can read about the three campuses and about some of AU’s other activities around the country.

Aarhus Campus

With the University Park at its centre, the Aarhus Campus extends across the city. The University Park, where students meet to study, revise, socialise and attend the annual boat race, is home to the distinctive yellow university buildings. These buildings house most of the degree programmes within the university’s four faculties: The Faculty of Arts, Aarhus BSS, the Faculty of Science and Technology, and the Faculty of Health. The buildings on Fuglesangs Allé (the former Aarhus School of Business) are not far away. The engineering degree programmes are based at Navitas at Aarhus harbour and at Katrinebjerg.      

Emdrup Campus

The Emdrup Campus in Copenhagen is home to a large part of the Danish School of Education, which became part of Aarhus University in a merger some years ago.  The Emdrup Campus is a concentrated and integrated environment for research and education. At the Emdrup Campus, you can find a cafeteria, a café, beautiful outdoor areas, and AU Library, Emdrup which has a collection of approx. 800,000 books and journals.

AU Herning

The AU Herning Campus is part of Aarhus BSS and offers a number of degree programmes that focus on engineering, business administration and management, as well as close collaboration with business and industry and a world-class entrepreneurial environment. All the degree programmes at Herning Campus also include innovation and structural creativity. Herning has a thriving social and cultural life.

AU Foulum

AU Foulum in Central Jutland is part of Aarhus University and is home to most of the university’s research in food and agriculture. Research areas include plants, animals, food, organic farming, bioenergy, the environment, climate, soil, genetics and technology. At AU Foulum, you will find the Department of Animal ScienceDepartment of Agroecology and research groups from the Department of Food ScienceDepartment of Molecular Biology and Genetics, and Department of Biological and Chemical Engineering. AU Foulum is also home to the Danish Centre for Food and Agriculture (DCA), which supports collaboration between industry, organisations and authorities.

AU Silkeborg

AU Silkeborg is part of the Department of Bioscience. The department provides teaching, consultancy services and research within bioscience, which concerns life in all respects; from bacteria to whales and from genes to ecosystems, spanning basic research and applied biology in nature management and biotechnology.

AU Flakkebjerg

AU Flakkebjerg is located near Slagelse in West Zealand at the heart of Danish cereal and seed production. AU Flakkebjerg is a research centre that focuses on multidisciplinary research into plants and crop production. The centre is a dynamic hub for the more practical aspects of crop research and crop production in Denmark.

AU in Greenland

Villum Research Station in Greenland is owned by the Greenland Government and operated by Aarhus University (Denmark) in cooperation with the Danish Defense (the Arctic Command). The station was founded in 2014 with support from the Danish private fund Villum Foundation. The station hosts individual scientific projects that focus on atmospheric, marine and terrestrial research.