Aarhus University Seal

AU locations

Aarhus University is a nationwide university. In addition to the main campus in Aarhus, Aarhus University has campuses in Herning, Viborg and Emdrup, as well as research activities in 18 different locations in Denmark, Greenland and Tenerife.

Aarhus Campus

With the University Park at its centre, the Aarhus Campus extends across the city. The University Park, where students meet to study, revise, socialise and attend the annual boat race, is home to the distinctive yellow university buildings. These buildings house most of the degree programmes within the university’s five faculties: The Faculty of Arts, Aarhus BSS, the Faculty of Health, the Faculty of Natural Sciences and the Faculty of Technical Sciences. The buildings on Fuglesangs Allé (Department of Management and Depatment of Economics and Business Economics) are not far away. The engineering degree programmes are based at Navitas at Aarhus harbour and at Katrinebjerg.      

Campus 2.0

The Aarhus Campus is undergoing extensive renovations and expanding to a new Campus 2.0. The expansion is part of a vision to develop the campus in Aarhus into an even more attractive and future-oriented research and study environment. One notable project is rebuilding the old  hospital buildings on Nørrebrogade. This initiative is transforming the historic site into a new section of the University Campus known as the University City.

Emdrup Campus

The Emdrup Campus in Copenhagen is home to the Danish School of Education. The Danish School of Education (known in Denmark as DPU) constitutes Denmark's largest and strongest university environment for basic and applied research within the field of education and educational theory (pedagogics). With its 155 scholars and 90 PhD students, it constitutes one of the largest education research environments in Europe.

Herning Campus

AU Herning is located in the Central Jutland region of Denmark. The Herning Campus is characterised by its diversity, as it serves as a dynamic place for engineering, entrepreneurship and business. It is home to the Department of Business Development and Technology (BTECH), which is part of Aarhus BSS. Aarhus BSS and the Faculty of Technical Sciences offer a number of degree programmes that focus on engineering, business administration and management, as well as close collaboration with business and industry and a world-class entrepreneurial environment. All the degree programmes at Herning Campus include innovation and structural creativity. You can follow the life on campus on Instagram@au_herning.

Viborg Campus

AU Viborg in Central Jutland is part of Aarhus University and is home to most of the university’s research in food and agriculture. Research areas include plants, animals, food, organic farming, bioenergy, the environment, climate, soil, genetics and technology. At AU Viborg, you will find the Department of Animal Science, Department of Agroecology and research groups from the Center for Quantitative Genetics and Genomics and the Department of Biological and Chemical Engineering. DCA – the Danish Centre for Food and Agriculture – is also based at AU Viborg and is a supporting body for the collaboration with industry, organisations and authorities.

AU Roskilde/Risø

At AU Roskilde/Risø you find the Department of Ecoscience. The department provides teaching, consultancy services and research on life, with topics spanning from bacteria to whales, from genes to ecosystems and from basic research to applied biology in nature management and biotechnology.

The Department of Environmental Science is also part of AU Roskilde/Risø. The department conducts problem-oriented research on topics spanning environmental ecology, chemistry and physics, and interactions between the environment and society in economic, political and social terms. The department also performs research-based public administration and provides research-based advice.

The Departments of Ecoscience and Environmental Science are located on the Risø peninsula on Zealand (Sjælland), approximately 40 kilometers west of Copenhagen and 7 kilometres north of Roskilde. 

AU Flakkebjerg

AU Flakkebjerg is located near Slagelse in West Zealand at the heart of Danish cereal and seed production. AU Flakkebjerg is a research centre that focuses on multidisciplinary research into plants and crop production. The centre is a dynamic hub for the more practical aspects of crop research and crop production in Denmark.

AU in Greenland

Villum Research Station in Greenland is owned by the Greenland Government and operated by Aarhus University (Denmark) in cooperation with the Danish Defense (the Arctic Command). The station was founded in 2014 with support from the Danish private fund Villum Foundation. The station hosts individual scientific projects that focus on atmospheric, marine and terrestrial research.