Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


The Board

The Board is Aarhus University’s highest authority, and its mandate is to promote the university’s interests as an institution of research and education. The Board determines the framework for the university's organisation and sets long-term goals for its activities and development.

The senior management team

The senior management team consists of the rector, the pro-rector, the university director and the deans of the five faculties. The rector is responsible for the day-to-day management of the university within the framework set by the Board. The other members of the senior management team undertake their duties under the authorisation of the rector. The senior management team is supported by the Rector's Office.

The senior management team doubles as the university's central business committee. Together with the faculty business committees, the university's central  business committee work to improve the framework for researcher and student collaboration with private and public sector businesses and organisations.


The university’s core activities – research, talent development, consultancy and education- are carried out by the departments, sections, centres and other units of the five faculties.

Vice-deans, department heads and directors of studies

In addition to the senior management team, the executive management of Aarhus University consists of the vice-deans, the department heads and the directors of studies, all of whom perform their duties and responsibilities by authority of the Rector.

Directors of studies

In cooperation with the degree programme board of studies, the director of studies is responsible for the practical organisation of teaching, tests and other forms of assessment which form part of examinations etc.

The Administration

The Administration serves the Board, the senior management team, the faculties, appointed committees and other decision-making bodies. The Administration is managed by the university director in cooperation with the five deputy directors and the four administrative centre managers.