Aarhus University Seal

The results of the 2019 university elections are in

This year's university elections are over. The have been votes counted and the victorious candidates informed. There are new faces, for example on the AU Board, which will welcome four new members at its meetings after 1 February 2020. Read more about the elections and see the results.

In addition to the new members of AU's senior management team, new representatives have been voted into the faculties ' academic councils, boards of studies and the PhD committees. 

See all the election results here

New faces on the board

In this year's university elections, four seats on the board were up for election: two academic staff representatives, one for the administrative and technical staff and one for the students.

As the results of an uncontested election, Buildings Manager Uffe Pilegård Larsen is the new technical-administrative staff representative. Uffe works at the Department of Agroecology at Flakkebjerg.

The new representatives of the academic staff on the AU Board are:

  • Anne Skorkjær Binderkrantz, professor at the Department of Political Science (candidate on the Aarhus BSS list).
  • Peter Balling, professor MSO at Department of Physics and Astronomy (candidate on the ST list).

The new student representatives on the board will be Hanna-Louise Schou Nielsen from the Student Council, who is a 7th semester political science student, while the current member of the board, Ditte Marie Thomsen, will continue on.  

Facts about the elections 

The turnout for this year’s election was 21.11 per cent. There were16 contested elections, i.e. elections in which it was possible to vote for different candidates. And there were 77 uncontested elections and 20 cancelled elections – i.e. elections for which there was no vote, either because no more than one candidate was nominated, or because there were no candidates. Read more about uncontested elections and cancellation of elections on the website.  

Additional information

Read more about the election at au.dk/en/election or contact the Election Secretariat at valg@au.dk.