Aarhus University Seal

Professor Signe Normand receives the Elite Research Prize for 2021

Professor of biology Signe Normand from Aarhus University is among the recipients of the five Eliteforsk Awards 2021, which were announced on Thursday 6 May. Six research talents from Aarhus University also received Elite Research Travel Grants.

This coverage is based on press material from the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.

Biology professor Signe Normand has received the Elite Research Prize for her studies of the spread and dynamics of plants over time and space using original and innovative methods. Her research is about creating an overview of how climate and environmental changes affect different plant species over time, space and scale. And overview should be taken absolutely literally. She sees plants in a different light and from different angles than we others do: from space – thanks to satellite photos and measurements of different wavelengths of light – and from the sky – thanks to sensors on planes and drones she sends up herself.

Read a portrait of Signe Normand

The Elite Research Prizes are awarded by the Danish Minister for Higher Education and Science Ane Halsboe-Jørgensen and aim to create awareness of elite research in Denmark and highlight the important work being done by Danish researchers in scientific fields. The Elite Research Prize includes a cash prize of DKK 1.2 million. DKK 200,000 is a personal award of merit, while DKK 1,000,000 is intended for research activities.

Due to Covid-19, the award ceremony will be postponed until 10 August 2021, on which day the researchers will be honoured at a festive event.

Elite Research Travel Grants to six talented PhD students
In connection with the conferal of the EliteForsk award, 20 EliteForsk travel grants will also be awarded to promising research talents. An Elite Research Travel Grant includes a cash prize of DKK 200,000 which must be used for an extended period of research abroad in a strong international research environment.

Six of this year’s recipients are from Aarhus University:

Read more about EliteForsk on the ministry’s website