Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Marcos Luis


Name: Marcos José Luis Fernández

Country of origin: Venezuela

Field of studyMSc in Geophysics

1. What is the best thing about being a student at Aarhus University?

I think that one thing that characterizes Danish people and specially AU is its organization and the equipment facilities to be able to get a great education in all the roles (as in the university, as in field trips, as in my Geoscience case) during my entire studies.

2. What worries did you have before applying?

Money is the most important factor, to be able to get a job to keep living and studying at this great university.

3. What is the biggest difference between studying at Aarhus University and where you studied before (please include where you studied before)?

I had the opportunity to do my BSc. in Venezuela (Simon Bolivar University) and a small Master in Renewable Energies in Spain (University of Vigo). So, I considered the practical application of the education in AU as a key factor to be able to increase my chances to get a job.

4. What would you like to have known before applying?

Information about the student profile, such as workload before and after classes. Secondly, detailed information about the selection of the different courses during my studies and the timetable for each courses, at least from the last years to have an idea of how many hours and days you are going to have classes.

5. Please give 3 good tips to keeping living costs down as a student in Denmark

As I mentioned before, the fundamental issue is to have a job. If you have one even as a student job you are able to live easily during your study period.

6. What is it like to study and live in Aarhus and in Denmark?

Personally, I believe that Denmark is an impressive country. The education system works incredibly well, and Aarhus is a dynamic city where the university is close to the city center which makes it attractive for the university life.

7. What are your plans after you graduate?

I would like to find a job in my field here in Denmark and to get more experienced as well as keep learning about this great culture.