Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


The Danish Government Scholarships under the Cultural Agreements are aimed at highly qualified Master's level exchange students and PhD students wishing to immerse themselves in studies of the Danish language and culture or other fields of study related to Denmark.

Scholarships are offered to exchange students at the Master's level and PhD-level students from higher education institutions in the following countries:

  Brazil, China, Egypt, Japan, South Korea and Russia

Bachelor's degree students wishing to study Danish language and literature can also apply, provided that they have studied the Danish language for two years.

Scholarships are only offered to students enrolled in degree-granting programmes at higher education institutions in the countries listed above. PhD students must likewise be employed at, or affiliated with, higher education institutions in the abovementioned countries.

Applications from candidates affiliated with higher education institutions in countries other than those listed will not be taken into consideration.

For more information, please go to the website of the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.

Please note: Aarhus University does not require nor provide invitation letters for Bachelor's and Master's degree students applying for The Danish Government Scholarships under the Cultural Agreements.


In order to ensure that the most qualified candidates are nominated for a scholarship under the Cultural Agreements, the scholarship committee has defined a set of criteria for the assessment of applicants. While the successful candidate does not necessarily need to meet all criteria, applicants who meet several criteria will have a better standing in the selection process than applicants who do not.

Please note that only Master’s degree students can apply for scholarships. However, for studies in Danish language and literature, Bachelor's level students can apply if they have studied Danish language for two years prior to the start of their studies in Denmark.

In the selection process, the Danish host institutions will give priority to candidates:

  • Who motivate their choice of a specific research programme or field of study through its relation to Danish language, culture or to other areas of Danish expertise. Successful applicants will elaborate on the Danish dimension in their choice of studies or research when applying in fields such as: architecture, design, environmental studies, music, welfare, etc.
  • Who are nominated by a lecturer who teaches Danish in their home country. Applicants must include a reference from the lecturer in their application.
  • Who study Danish or Scandinavian languages and literature.
  • Who refer to an internationally acclaimed lecturer at the desired Danish host institution whom they would like to learn from.
  • Who have contacted the desired Danish host university and received an invitation from a lecturer to conduct studies or research there.
  • Who study at a partner university or institution of the desired Danish host university.

 Please note you are ineligible for a scholarship if: 

  • You are already enrolled or planning to enroll in a full degree, joint degree, or double degree programme in Denmark. Full, joint, and double degree students enrolled in a Danish institution are not considered exchange students and are ineligible for scholarships.
  • You are not currently enrolled in, or conducting research at, an institution of higher education in your home country.
  • You intend to pursue studies at a Bachelor’s level in fields other than Danish language and literature during your stay in Denmark.
  • You intend to pursue studies at a Ph.D. or post-doctorate level during your stay in Denmark
  • You plan to conduct studies or research on a part-time, rather than a full-time, basis.


Deadline for submitting an application for the academic year 2019 is 1 March 2019.

For more information, please go to the website of the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.


Scholarships are tenable during the academic year. The autumn term begins on September 1st, the spring term on February 1st.

For Bachelor’s and Master’s students, the study period must be of minimum one semester (5 months) and a maximum of 2 semesters (10 months).

For PhD students, the study period must be of minimum 3 months and a maximum of 12 months.

With respect to residence permits and/or visa, we recommend that accepted applicants contact the Danish diplomatic representation in their home country well in advance of their entry to Denmark.


Scholarships for Bachelor's students in Danish language and literature and for master's and PhD students include free tuition and a monthly stipend of DKK 6,500.  Scholarship periods lasting more than 3 months include health insurance.


Danish is the language of instruction at institutions of higher education in Denmark, but institutions increasingly offer courses in English or in other foreign languages, or have special arrangements for non-Danish students.