Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


The Danish Government Scholarships under the Cultural Agreements are aimed at highly qualified Master's level exchange students and PhD students wishing to immerse themselves in studies of the Danish language and culture or other fields of study related to Denmark.

Scholarships are offered to exchange students at the Master's level and PhD-level students from higher education institutions in the following countries:

  Brazil, China, Egypt, Japan, South Korea and Russia

Bachelor's degree students wishing to study Danish language and literature can also apply, provided that they have studied the Danish language for two years.

Scholarships are only offered to students enrolled in degree-granting programmes at higher education institutions in the countries listed above. PhD students must likewise be employed at, or affiliated with, higher education institutions in the abovementioned countries.

Applications from candidates affiliated with higher education institutions in countries other than those listed will not be taken into consideration.

For more information, please go to the website of the Ministry of Higher Education and Science.

Please note: Aarhus University does not require nor provide invitation letters for Bachelor's and Master's degree students applying for The Danish Government Scholarships under the Cultural Agreements.

Selection process

Application process



Scholarship period

Scholarship amount

Language of instruction