Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Historical overview

A group of 78 students embarked on a programme of 'University Teaching in Jutland'. The first subjects taught were philosophy and languages, all within the Faculty of Arts.

A foundation course in medicine was started.

The formal establishment of the Faculty of Arts and the Faculty of Medicine took place in conjunction with the adoption of "The Statutes for the Rector, Convocation of Teachers and Faculties of Aarhus University".

The Faculty of Economics and Law was opened.

Theology - originally a department in the Faculty of arts - became an independent Faculty. 1954 The Faculty of Science was opened with physics, chemistry, mathematics and geography.

The number of students passed 5,000. 1969 The Faculty of Economics and Law was renamed the Faculty of Social Sciences. 1970 Aarhus University became a State institution as are all the Danish universities. The number of students passed 10,000.

The number of students passed 15,000. 1992 Aarhus School of Dentistry became part of the Faculty of Medicine and the faculty was renamed the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Professor Emeritus Jens Christian Skou received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

The number of students passed 20,000.

2002 The Centre of Applied Sciences was established in collaboration with the University College of Aarhus. The centre qualifies students as graduate engineers (cand.polyt.).

Under the Danish University Act of 2003 the University of Aarhus became a self-governing body once again. The Act lays down the same statutory provisions for the other eleven universities in Denmark.

The Institute of Business and Technology in Herning (HIH) became part of Aarhus University.

The Aarhus School of Business, the Danish Institute of Agricultural Sciences, the National Environmental Research Institute and the Danish University of Education merged with Aarhus University. The University now had about 34,000 students and 9,000 staff.

Visiting professor Dale T. Mortensen received the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences.

As a resultat of internal mergers, the university now consisted of four main academic areas: Arts, Science and Technology, Health, and Business and Social Science.

Engineering College of Aarhus became part of Aarhus University.